Learning to Love Unconditionally Part I

Part I of III: Why is it So Hard to Love?

1aa

Why is the idea of unconditional love so hard for most people to accept?

It’s a matter of perception. It is difficult to love anyone that has done something wrong to you. It is sometimes difficult to love someone who has done something wrong to someone you don’t even know.

When we perceive someone as having done wrong or hurtful things to us or to others, we begin to experience unfavorable emotions. Those emotions then become the basis of how we decide to think and feel about the wrongdoer in question, and subsequently how we behave towards them.

This means that for most people, the idea of loving others is conditional.  “I will love you as long as I feel good about everything you do.”  Is this idea reflective of the unconditional love we all receive from Spirit?  Does the idea of loving others based on conditions exemplify the teachings of any Spiritual philosophy that you know?  The answer to both of those questions is no.

Spirit, the Universe, Nature, God or whatever we choose to call it; or however we choose to recognize it, is always giving, always creating, always producing and always providing.  The air, water, and light we need is ever available.  Grass, trees and plants always grow.  These are facts that have been true since before the beginning of recorded history.  No matter what mankind, or any individual person does, Nature just keeps on giving, because God just keeps on loving.

At this point, you are probably feeling that it makes no sense for you to love someone who treats people poorly, or who has not been so kind to you.  But, as I said, it’s a matter of perception.

Next, Part II of III: Changing Your Perception

Inspired Affirmation of the Day – 12/27/08

I am filled with, surrounded by, and immersed in the constant, consistent, unconditional Love of God.

Inspired Quote of the Day – 12/27/08

Love is the grandest healing and drawing power on earth.

–Ernest Holmes

Inspired Prayer Treatment of the Day – 12/27/08

God is Love; the constant, consistent and unconditional givingness of Life to itself.  I am one with God; so, I am the Love of God in Perfect, Divine expression.  I love myself by affirming and knowing this truth about myself now.  Because I am one with God, I am one with all Life, and I give to myself by knowing the Truth about everyone, everywhere, at all times.

I consciously accept all that I am, all that I have, and all that I am given with Joy and gratitude.  God is my unfailing Supply of all I ever want, need or desire.  My word is a Perfect Law unto itself, and I am always well-provided.  I give thanks now, completely trusting the Law as It works in me, as me, through me and by means of me to turn my word to flesh.  I release my word, grateful that it is done now. And so it is.

Leave a Reply

